Community Shares Power Lunch Recognizes Community Leaders

Why is no one sitting with Councilman Brancatelli? Photo from Community Shares Facebook pageCommunity Shares Power Lunch & Annual Meeting took place Friday, June 24, 2016, at Windows on the River in the Flats. Attendees feasted on their choice of a vegetarian, chicken or pasta entrée, salad, beverage and chocolate cake. They were also able to view, and bid on, baskets to be raffled off donated by member organizations.

After a welcome and year-in-review by Cynthia Ries, the Executive Director of Community Shares, Social Justice Awards were presented by Mary Ellen Gardner-Turner, President, Community Shares Board of Directors and Linda D. Kimble, Community Shares Board of Directors, Social Justice Awards Committee. After the awards were presented, baskets donated by member organizations were raffled off.

This year’s winners: Eleanor R. Gerson Leadership in Social Justice Award winner – Joe Cimperman, former Cleveland City Councilman and current President of Global Cleveland; Distinguished Activist – Lou Tisler, Executive Director of NHS of Greater Cleveland; Rising Artist – Darius Stubbs of Cleveland Public Theater; Membership Organization of the Year – Near West Theater; Social 'justice Volunteer of the year – Diana Cyganovich, Executive Director of Cogswell Hall; And Social Justice Communications: Print Journalism – Rachel Dissell and Brie Zeltner both of the Cleveland Plain Dealer.

by Joyce Robinson

Editor's Note:  Joyce also joined the Shares Board as part of the Power Lunch. 

Posts reflect the opinion of those who sign the entry